FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 05/25/2013
Governor Rick Perry Signs HB 2 Bans Abortion After 20 Weeks
AUSTIN - Thursday morning Texas Governor Rick Perry signed House Bill 2 into law. The abortion regulation legislation stirred emotions and ignited controversy throughout the first special session and has remained through the second special. House Bill 2 effectively bans abortion procedures after 20 weeks, or 5 months, requires greater regulation and restriction of the medication abortion drug RU-486, requires abortion providers have admittance privileges at nearby hospitals and requires abortion facilities to meet ambulatory surgical center standards.
Representative Dan Flynn (Van) was in attendance at the bill signing and was joined by other members of the Texas Legislature. "What we have witnessed here at the Capitol is historic," stated Representative Flynn shortly after the signing ceremony. "I am honored to have been a part of shepherding this legislation through the Legislature and am elated that Governor Perry and my colleagues recognize the importance of protecting the life of the unborn and the safety and wellbeing of mothers across our state."
In a letter to Governor Perry on May 24, 2013, Representative Flynn stood with 60 House members in urging the Governor to add pro-life legislation to the call. Representative Flynn shared authorship of the bill during both the first and second special session.
"House District 2 has been overwhelming in their support of this legislation and of my position. My vow to protect life was constantly reaffirmed by the thoughtful prayers and words of encouragement I received from so many friends, colleagues and constituents," said Representative Flynn in a statement released on his website. "The adversity we faced only strengthened my conviction that we remain on the right side of the fight."
Contact: Amanda Robertson
Phone: (512) 463-0880