Member's Page


member image

Representative McClendon Announces 2013 UTSA Legislative Scholars  print page

by: Rep.

(San Antonio) -- State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon announces the selection of eight students to serve as capitol interns in the 2013 UTSA Legislative Scholars Program, popularly known as the McClendon Legislative Scholars Program. Six of these outstanding students are from the Institute for Law and Public Affairs and two are from the Graduate School of the University of Texas at San Antonio. They will spend the 2013 Legislative Session working as legislative assistants in the State Capitol.

The Scholars are Eliana Briceño, Ana Cabrera-Marquez, Samantha Link, Corbin Marak, Travis Miller, Amarro Nelson, Alexandra Rosales, and Valerie Sullivan. They will be working in the offices of these Legislators, respectively: Representative Dawnna Dukes (Austin); Representative Senfronia Thompson (Houston); Representative Rob Orr (Burleson); Representative Lois Kolkhorst (Brenham); Representative José Menéndez (San Antonio); Representative McClendon; Representative Borris Miles (Houston); and Speaker Joe Straus (San Antonio).

These highly qualified students bring diverse backgrounds, expertise, and interests to the program, and major in different Colleges and the Graduate School at UTSA. Each Scholar has begun training at the State Capitol, which is specifically tailored for their duties as legislative assistants. They will earn class credit for their internship experiences, and each student will receive a $10,000 stipend for the 2013 Session. All of them plan to pursue aspects of public policy and service, and several are preparing for studies in law school. The students will begin working full-time on or before January 8, 2013, and will complete the internship program at the close of the Session on May 27, 2013.

Dr. Ricardo Romo, President of the University, said, “Representative Ruth Jones McClendon has long been a vocal advocate for higher education, and particularly UTSA. The Legislative Scholars Program is another way that Representative McClendon is providing wonderful opportunities for our students. The students who participate in this program will have a front-row seat to the state’s legislative process." He added enthusiastically, "It’s an invaluable experience that will challenge them to develop their ingenuity, resourcefulness, professionalism and good judgment. I am so grateful to Representative McClendon for supporting this program.”

Representative McClendon began the program in August, 2004, with the support and collaboration of Dr. Richard Gambitta at UTSA. Since Dr. Gambitta's retirement, Dr. Richard Diem, Dean of the Honors College at UTSA, has served as program director to shepherd the McClendon Scholars through the selection process, and throughout the upcoming Session. The program is made possible in part by generous contributions from AT&T and Coca Cola.

Representative McClendon currently serves on the House Committee on Appropriations and
the House Committee on Transportation. She also serves as Chair of the House Committee on Rules & Resolutions. The 83rd Legislative Session will be her ninth term serving Texas House District 120.

Janis Reinken
(512) 463-0708

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address: