Texas House Member

Member Photo

Rep. Miller, Doug

District 73


Capitol Address:

Room GN.10

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0325

District Address:

407 W. Mill Street

New Braunfels, Texas 78130

(830) 625-1313

(830) 625-1747 Fax

Counties Represented:

Gillespie, Kendall, Comal



Chairman Doug Miller is from District 73 which is comprised of Comal, Gillespie, and Kendall Counties. He has recently been appointed to Chair the House Committee On Special Purpose Districts and as a member of the Licensing & Administrative Procedures Committee.

Miller holds the rank of Major in the Texas State Guard. He has been awarded the Texas Outstanding Service Medal by Texas State Guard leadership and has been honored "State Representative of the Year" by the County Judges and Commissioners Association of Texas. The Texas Association of Counties has named him a "Friend of County Government" after each legislative session that he has served.

Miller is Vice Chairman the Tourism Caucus, a member of the Energy Caucus, Farm-To-Table Caucus, Sportsmen's Caucus, and Manufacturer's Caucuses. He was also an appointee to the Texas House Republican Caucus Policy Committee. Miller served as former Councilman and Mayor of the City of New Braunfels.

As former Chairman of the Board of the Edwards Aquifer Authority, representing Comal and Guadalupe counties, Rep. Miller worked with the legislature in 1993 to help write SB1477, which created the Edwards Aquifer Authority in statute. He was one of the original members of the EAA Board and was its longest serving member. He also worked with Senator Buster Brown in the writing of SB1, which created a new model for Texas water planning and was subsequently appointed as a charter member of the Regional L Water Planning Group.

Doug balances his time as a husband, a father, a grandfather, a state legislator and as President of Miller & Miller Insurance Agency (Offices in New Braunfels, & Seguin). He has been in the insurance business since 1978 and president of his agency for 25 years. Doug is a graduate of Texas State University. He holds the professional designations of C.I.C. - Certified Insurance Counselor and C.P.I.A. - Certified Professional Insurance Agent. Doug is also a licensed Real Estate Broker and is on the Board of Directors of First Commercial Bank, New Braunfels.

Chairman Miller is married to the former Anne Mund. They have been married for 38 years and have two children, Douglas II and Amanda. Douglas II and his wife LeAnn have two children, a daughter named McKinley and a son named Korbyn.

Press Conferences:

Member Press Conferences