Texas House Member

Rep. Smith, Wayne

District 128


Capitol Address:

Room GN.8

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0733

(512) 463-1323 Fax

District Address:

909 Decker Drive, Suite 104

Baytown, TX 77520

(832) 556-2002

(832) 556-0319 Fax

Counties Represented:

Harris (part)



In November 2002, Representative Wayne Smith was elected to the Texas House of Representatives to serve District 128, encompassing Baytown, Deer Park, La Porte, Morgan's Point, Pasadena and portions of the unincorporated area of East Harris County.

At the beginning of the 84th Legislative Session, Rep. Smith was appointed to continue to serve as the Chairman of the Licensing and Administrative Procedures committee. The House Committee on Licensing and Administrative Procedures has jurisdiction over matters pertaining to business, industry, trade, gaming, and the sale of alcoholic beverages. It also has oversight of several key commissions, including the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, the Texas Real Estate Commission, the Texas Board of Professional Engineers, and the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. In addition, he also serves as a member of the Culture, Recreation, and Tourism committee, which oversees the state's parks, fish and wildlife, shrines, monuments, and memorials. Included is the maintenance and oversight of the Battleship Texas and the San Jacinto Battleground.

Prior to his election, Rep. Smith was president of Wayne Smith and Associates, Inc. Consulting Engineers. Rep. Smith, a Licensed Professional Engineer and also a Registered Public Land Surveyor, remains active in professional activities. He was Construction Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Harris County - Houston Sports Authority and Director of Gulf Coast Waste Disposal Authority and Coastal Water Authority before becoming an elected representative. Rep. Smith also served the U.S. Army in the Republic of Vietnam.

Rep. Smith and his wife, Brenda, live in Baytown. He has two children and three grandchildren.


  • No newsletters have been submitted

Press Conferences:

Member Press Conferences