Business & Industry Committee

Quick Links

Committee info:

  • Clerk:
  • Angelina Lopez
  • Room:
  • EXT E2.128
  • Phone:
  • (512) 463-0766

Committee Members


House Member Rep. Oliveira

Rep. Oliveira,

Vice Chair

House Member Rep. Shine

Rep. Shine,


House Member Rep. Collier

Rep. Collier,


House Member Rep. Romero

Rep. Romero,


House Member Rep. Stickland

Rep. Stickland,


House Member Rep. Villalba

Rep. Villalba,


House Member Rep. Workman

Rep. Workman,


       Sec. 3.  BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY. The committee shall have
  seven  members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
               (1)  industry and manufacturing;
               (2)  industrial safety and adequate and safe working
  conditions, and the regulation and control of those conditions;
               (3)  hours, wages, collective bargaining, and the
  relationship between employers and employees;
               (4)  the regulation of business transactions and
  transactions involving property interests;
               (5)  the organization, incorporation, management, and
  regulation of private corporations and professional associations
  and the Uniform Commercial Code and the Business Organizations
               (6)  the protection of consumers, governmental
  regulations incident thereto, the agencies of government
  authorized to regulate such activities, and the role of the
  government in consumer protection;
               (7)  privacy and identity theft;
               (8)  homeowners' associations;
               (9)  oversight and regulation of the construction
  industry; and
               (10)  the following state agencies: the State Office of
  Risk Management, the Risk Management Board, the Division of
  Workers' Compensation of the Texas Department of Insurance, the
  Workers' compensation research and evaluation group in the Texas
  Department of Insurance, the Office of Injured Employee Counsel,
  including the ombudsman program of that office, and the Texas
  Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors.